Age Ain’t Nothin’ But a Number?

So here’s a fact about me: I’m 19-years-old. I’m young for a college sophomore but I have a September birthday. I just made the cut-off way back when in kindergarten. I met a guy in one of my classes. He’s good-looking, he’s smart, he’s funny, respectful and 28 fucking-years-old.

I told myself no immediately, but we connected. We had little lunch dates after class for a month, got coffee together and chatted. We had one lovely evening that ended with lots of kisses and hugs and laughs. It was essentially official. He was my boyfriend, I was his girlfriend. I had to tell my mother.

“No.”

That was the start of it.

“He’s a man. Too old–no. Stop it now before it gets too complicated.”

Honestly, I don’t even know who I’m kidding. It’s not going to work in the long run; I’m aware of it. And call me a loser, but I can’t be comfortable if my mom isn’t.

Break-ups with lovely men suck. Is it worth it?

2 Responses to “Age Ain’t Nothin’ But a Number?”

  1. conflictedmind Says:

    No, I don’t think so. With that large of an age gap you are in totally different phases of life.

  2. 28 isn’t really man these days, more the other end of teenager, imo.

Leave a Reply

